Finance Minister Edward Scicluna appointed Vice-Chair of the Board of Governors of the European Bank for Restructuring and Development (EBRD)

During the Annual Meeting of the EBRD held in London between 11-12 May 2016, Malta’s Minister for Finance, Professor Edward Scicluna, was appointed Vice Chair of the Board of Governors, for the period 2016-2017. Professor Scicluna had also served in that position during the 2014-2015 period.


The Chair and Vice Chairs for 2016-2017 are elected through a formal process, whereby a recommendation is made by the Procedures Committee 2015-2016 through the Committee’s Report submitted to governors prior to the annual meeting.

pr161039a (1)

During the meeting the governors also voted and reaffirmed Sir Suma Chakrabarti as President of the Bank for the coming four year period. Malta has been a shareholder of the EBRD since the bank was founded in 1991 to support the transition to market economies and democracies after the collapse of communist rule in Eastern Europe. Malta’s relationship with the EBRD has continued to grow in recent years and has seen Malta renew its support to the Bank in a period when the Bank’s mandate is being extended to North Africa and the Middle East.


The Minister was accompanied by the Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Malta Alfred Mifsud and his Chief of Staff Tania Brown.

govmt_logo   onenews_logo    maltatoday2_logo   tvm_com_mt-Logo-HI-rRES-SOLID-COLOUR   newsbook_logo   newsmalta

Thursday 12th May 2016


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *